Crying Happy Tears

By Molly MacDonald

 

“Thank you, so much! You have no idea how much this means to me. Thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers. I am crying happy tears for the first time in months. I think you’re an angel. Thank you so much,”
Aubrey


A breast cancer diagnosis is almost always accompanied by tears, but not of the happy variety. (Show me a woman who does not shed tears upon hearing the news and I will show you a woman with a very long nose.) Tears of shock, fear, anger, grief, denial, and you can fill in the blank on all the other adjectives.

The tears come because a cancer diagnosis comes with uncertainty. “How bad is it? What will my treatment plan be? Am I going to lose my breasts?  Do I have to have chemo? Will I lose my hair? Is my husband going to book on me? What do I tell my children, my friends my family, MY BOSS . . . Will I lose my job? How will I pay my bills?” The diagnosis is what it is. The treatment plan will be determined by you and your medical team (although most survivors agree a second opinion is advisable). You might lose your breasts, that’s why I had mine casted the night before my surgery. And yes, it is true some husbands  book (as might some friends by the way, who are so frightened for you they fear for themselves, dealing with that fear by isolating you. It’s hurtful, but it happens). You might lose your job, particularly if you work for an employer not regulated by the Family Medical Leave Act.

Paying your Bills? Well that is where The Pink Fund can help. Provided funding is available and you qualify, we can help you pay your bills.  Not all of them, but some of them. House or rent payments, car or car insurance payments, utilities. A health insurance premium. And that is when the crying changes to happy tears. Tears of relief, that one of the burdens that comes with a breast cancer diagnosis, has been removed. Maybe for only a month. But that is 30 days when you can rest and focus on your recovery.

Aubrey, the woman crying happy tears, has given us permission to tell her story, so that in sharing we can encourage others to lend support through our secure paypal program.

Aubrey was just 33 when she was diagnosed. She worked eight years for the same employer and did not take out short-term diability because, well, at 25 who thinks you might be sidelined with breast cancer.

But Aubrey was and is and her sick pay of $75 a week doesn’t cut it. Nor does it help that Social Security does not consider her disabled even though social workers tell us that these women clearly are unable to work. When Aubrey called us and told us her story, we were fortunate to be able to write three checks immediately. One for her rent. One for her car payment and one for her insurance.  But the burden was huge for Aubrey.

Receiving Aubrey’s happy tears email left us crying as well. Crying happy tears is a good thing!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Topics

  • The Pink Fund

  • Pink Fund Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Pink Fund Blog Archives

