Grateful Hearts

By Molly MacDonald

Gratitude. It is something we are advised to express daily. It can come in the form of prayer, thanking God for His provision. It can come in the form of a phone call, acknowledging another’s contribution to your life.

It can come in the form of a donation to help an organization continue its mission. And it come can in the form of a recipient who can breathe easier because a burden has been lifted.

Last night Susan  I telephoned a young woman in treatment for breast cancer to tell her we would be making her June rent payment. For a moment there was no response and I had to ask, “Are you still there?”

I heard a long sigh of relief and then, “Yes, oh my God, thank you.”

A divorced mother of two young daughters (her ex husband is not making child support payments) , she  is also caring for her disabled mother. The family was getting by until January when she was diagnosed with breast cancer and laid off from her job. As the months passed, what little savings they had dwindled to nothing.   Fear and despair set in.

It is hard to focus on recovering, when fear grips your heart.  I know this all too well.

This morning, I opened my email to find a note of gratitude.

“I would like to thank you again from the bottom of my heart. I promise when my life is straightened out that I will do what ever I can to help this organization. You can’t even begin to understand how much stress you have taken away from me and my mother. Thank you and God Bless you!!!

I cried . I always do.   And then I thanked God for the privilege of helping another human being.

From the bottom of my heart, I am grateful.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Topics

  • The Pink Fund

  • Pink Fund Tweets

  • Pink Fund Blog Archives

