Not So Sweet–Sugar Feeds Cancer Cells

By Tami Boehmer

About a year ago, I signed up to with Imerman Angels, which matches “angel mentors” with newly diagnosed survivors. Jonny Imerman, its founder is a stage IV testicular cancer survivor and is featured in my book, From Incurable to Incredible. My first match was with Marina, a newly diagnosed survivor with stage IV breast cancer. It’s been a great experience.

Like me, Marina is all about empowering herself by being proactive with her health. She’s dived in, researching about holistic ways to fight cancer. As a result, she’s giving up sugar and carbs, adding supplements to her diet, and learning how to decrease stress in her life. She says she feels relieved that she’s not alone in this. We both feel like we need to do something rather than just sitting in a chemo chair.

Sometimes I feel like people think I’m a bit crazy. When desserts get passed around, I don’t take a bite; I usually pick the meat out of sandwiches if that’s the only choice…you get the picture. If you knew me BC (before cancer – well at least the second time around), this certainly wasn’t the case. I was a total sugarholic! Let’s just say my daughter’s Easter basket would have been emptied within days!

It was difficult at first, but every time I’d get a craving I’d repeat my mantra, “Sugar feeds cancer cells.”  I read all about it in books like Beating Cancer with Nutrition by Patrick Quinlan and Anti Cancer by David Servan-Schreiber. But if I mentioned it to my oncologist, he’d just say, “Oh you believe in that sugar feeds cancer thing?” Hence, the candy, cookies, crackers and such in the chemo suite!

I just came upon an interesting study that helps prove the point. Mike Adams from http://www.NaturalNews.com shares this:

A new study published in the Journal of Cancer Epidemiology, Mile Markers, and Prevention is presenting evidence of the link between the consumption of refined carbohydrates and cancer. This case-controlled study looked at the dietary habits of over 1,800 women in Mexico, and found that those who got 57% or more of their total energy intake from carbohydrates showed a 220% higher risk of breast cancer than women with more balanced diets.

This study shows that foods with high glycemic index values — that is, foods that more quickly raise blood sugar levels in the human body — actually accelerate the growth of cancer cells and tumors in the human body. Researchers involved with the study propose that the correlation between the consumption of refined carbohydrates and breast cancer could be related to elevated levels of insulin and the fact that many breast cancer tumors are encouraged and supported by high levels of insulin in the body.

Am I always good? Well, I still have my (70 percent or higher) dark chocolate and the occasional bread or handful of tortilla chips. But I try for the most part to stick to my diet. If I need to sweeten something; I’ll add Stevia or agave nectar (both natural low-glycemic alternatives).

I’ll get off my soapbox now and let you all decide for yourself. Sugar feeds cancer cells? What do you think?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Christian Arsenault

     /  August 3, 2011

    Of course, cancer is in love with refined sugar… That’s why Institut Hipocrate cut totally sugar in their cancer relief program, even the fruits, because of the sugar in them.
    See also what Tulio Simoncini does with his treatment… Cancer cannot survive in alcaline environment… Type Tulio Simoncini in your research motor…

    Reply
  2. I’ve concluded that agave nectar should be avoided, as it is largely fructose. You may want to look into that and see what you think?

    Reply
  3. hannah

     /  May 13, 2012

    hi my mom has been trying to keep me away from the sweets too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Topics

  • The Pink Fund

  • Pink Fund Tweets

  • Pink Fund Blog Archives

